New Releases – June 2016


DEER CREEK BOYS—WHAT GOES UP—Mountain Fever MFR160415 (compact disc)

DEL McCOURY BAND—DEL & WOODY—McCoury Music, No Number (compact disc)

MOUNTAIN HEART—BLUE SKIES—Compass Records 74662 2 (compact disc)


SPINNEY BROTHERS—LIVING THE DREAM—Mountain Fever MFR160429 (compact disc)

SWIFT CREEK—MAGNOLIA—No Label, No Number (compact disc)

KYLE TUTTLE—BOBCAT—Kale and Eggs Music, No Number (compact disc)

Additional Releases

DANIEL CRABTREE—THE GOSPEL ROAD—No Label, TGIWF-0219. This is a really nice all-gospel project of original material from Crabtree. He’s joined in the studio by Dustin Benson (guitar), Scott Vestal (banjo), Justin Moses (fiddle), Jesse Brock (mandolin), and Kyle Perkins (bass), with producers Donna Ulisse and Rick Stanley helping on vocals. The selections include the title-song “The Gospel Road,” along with “Holdin’ On,” “The Stained Glass Window,” “All Over Me,” “The Scarlet Red Line,” “Ya Gotta Love God,” and “Time’s Gettin’ Short.” A couple of highlights include a stirring “The Day I Realized I Was A Sinner” and a look at the story of “Elijah.” There are lots of good songs here that should be welcome additions to one’s repertoire. Good vocals overall, with solid backup and arrangements from the crew. (


TIM SMITH & FRIENDS—FIDDLER, VOLUME 2—TRS Records TRS-CD-7007. Tim Smith has put together another project of mostly original tunes. He’s accompanied on all tracks by Jeff Huffman on guitar and Zachary Lamb on bass. Additional help from his “friends” include Wayne Benson (mandolin), Eric Ellis (banjo), Clyde Mattocks (resonator guitar), Rick Norris (banjo), and Federico Pivetta (piano). On vocals are Al Batten (“Uncle Pen”) and Laurelyn Dossett (“Old New River”). His originals include “Milford’s Old Fiddle,” “Careful Now,” “Black Hills Hornpipe,” “Lonesome Fiddler’s Waltz,” “Sweet Spot,” and “Mahogany Rock Blues.” Smith rounds out the project with some familiar tunes such as “I’m A Pilgrim,” “Leather Britches,” “Blackberry Blossom,” and Bill Monroe’s “Uncle Pen.” Smith also plays mandolin on his original tune “Sweet Spot.” Fiddle players looking for new material should give this one a listen. (TRS Records, 384 Princeton Square Ct., Kernersville, NC 27284,

FLATLAND DRIVE—CUTS FROM HOUSTON’S MILL—No Label, No Number. Houston’s Mill is a former sawmill located in Denton, Md., that features bluegrass bands in a concert setting. While this project is dedicated to the owners of that facility, it was actually recorded at Patuxent Music studios in Rockville, Rd. The band hails from the Maryland/Delaware Eastern Shore and consists of Alan Rausch (resonator guitar), Brad Turner (mandolin), Rodney Collins (bass), Curt Fox (banjo), and Lee Collins (guitar). Six of the selections here are written by Collins and include “Please Don’t Go And Break My Heart,” “Gold-Digging Wreckingballer Blues,” “Sunday’s A-Comin’ Soon,” “The Red Words Tell Me So,” “Before You Go Away,” and “Willow.” Familiar tunes include “Carolina In The Pines’,” “Help Me Make It Through The Night,” “Molly And Tenbrooks,” “Banks Of The Ohio,” and “House Of Gold.” Brad Turner, Rodney Collins, and Lee Collins share the lead vocals and harmony with good backing from Rausch and Fox. This is a pretty nice first outing for this group. (